If I were a Roman…

Smartypants Chick Goes to Roma

IMG_7831

… what would I think? This may seem like an odd thing to wonder about but I do. For the time that I have lived here I have come to think of myself less and less like a tourist but more as an honorary citizen of Rome. Today on my way to mass at St. Peter’s, a young woman stopped me and asked me in Italian “Parla Inglese?” and I said “Si!” She had mistaken me for an Italian! This really made me feel at home. I get annoyed now at the huge tourist groups that crowd museums, sidewalks, piazzas and even bathrooms. How annoying it must be for the real Romans that live here year round and have to maneuver around the thousands of people that want to visit their city and take millions and millions of photographs to post on Facebook. What do they think of tourists? Do…

View original post 309 more words

Leave a Reply

