The Following (continuation II)

 

I realized that I had stupidly left my cell phone in my bag, which was right behind me in the back seat, out of reach. “Don’t panic,” I told myself. The turn I had to make was right ahead. I put on my left turn signal. He did the same.

“Oh my god, oh my god, oh my god,” I was sure that this meant I was being followed. The road we were on now is completely dark at night; the only light comes

from our headlights. It’s a curvy uphill road, carved into the forest. I pick up speed and my car’s engine grows louder. It’s pointless, he maintains right behind me. I don’t know what to do. Do I go home? Will doing that put my family at risk? If I do like my dad did

and drive down random streets but then my parents will start worrying about where I am and why I’m not home yet. I don’t know what to do.

One more street, turn to the left onto my street and then I’d be home. 20 feet, 15 feet, 10 feet, 5 feet, and I turn to the left suddenly without putting on my turn signal. I hold my breath for the next 10 seconds, until I see the headlights of the car that was behind me continue straight down the road. The relief I feel makes me laugh. I’m laughing so hard I’m shaking. Truthfully, I feel silly, jumping to conclusions.

I pull into my driveway and hurriedly go into my house, out of the cold and the dark. The warmth of the house is such a sharp contrast from the freezing cold that my glasses fog up.

“Hi!” I yell as I slip my shoes off and leave them on the mat by the door.

I walk into the living room and there are my parents, still side by side on the couch, underneath a big blanket.

“How was your day?” asks my mom.

I think about saying “Well, I felt like a ghost was watching me at school and then as I was driving home I thought that I was being followed, how was your day?” What I say instead is “Fine”.

I run up the stairs, two at a time, and go to my room and close the door behind me. The mirror behind the door shows me my reflection. “Tonight was one crazy night,” I say before turning away.

Leave a Reply

