X

If you could read my mind, love

Like x-ray vision, an image of my innermost self exposed

What a burden that would be.

If you could read my mind, love

You would see the anxiety that festers and thrives

The drive for perfection pushing against desires for spontaneity:

Freedom.

If you could read my mind, love

The fear of failure would be so clear

Like a clean break of a bone seen on a black and white photograph.

If you could read my mind, love

The mask I wear on a nearly daily basis would no longer fool you

The edges of lies starting to tear and rip away.

If you could read my mind, love

Would you still love me after, just like an old-time movie?

A perfect ending.

But you can’t read my mind, love

No matter how hard you might wish it

My mind is my own: secret, dark and true.

Leave a Reply

