Unguarded

This was our time together; Spanish soap opera on TV, and you laying on your stomach on your bed. Just you and me, like before. It was cool inside the room, our own air-conditioned oasis in the Californian summer heat. I would brush and braid until your curls lost their shape. I could do this forever. I’d peek at your face and I’d see that you’d fallen asleep and at that moment I loved you so much it swelled in my little chest and it hurt and I prayed I’d never lose you. I was scared of losing you. Mom, wife, sister, daughter. So unguarded for this briefest of moments, so relaxed and soon it would pass. Now, when you braid my hair as you always have, I realize that I miss you. I miss those brief afternoons when you had let me play with your hair until you fell asleep.

Leave a Reply

