Peanutty Veggie Chicken Rice

Last year, I volunteered at the Portland VegFest for the 2nd year. As a volunteer, we usually get to take home some goodies after the event is over on the last day. I had a package of PB2 powdered peanut butter in my cupboard and I decided to give it a try. This recipe uses that powdered peanut butter but you could certainly use regular peanut butter or substitute another nut butter, if you wish.

Ingredients:
4 cups cooked brown rice
1 1/2 cups grated carrot
1 green pepper, diced
1 red pepper, diced
1 head of broccoli, steamed
1 clove garlic
2 chicken breasts, cooked (tofu or tempeh or egg could be substituted for non-meat eaters)

For the sauce:
1/2 low fat chicken or veggie broth
1/3 cup PB2 peanut butter powder
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp lime juice
1/4 tsp red chili pepper flakes

Directions:
In a large bowl, mix the broth, PB2, soy sauce, brown sugar, lime juice, red pepper flakes and any seasoning you make like (curry powder, garlic powder, etc). Place the cooked rice in the bowl with the sauce and toss to coat.
In a wok, place the red and green pepper, garlic and carrots and cooked over medium high heat, until most of the moisture from the carrots has evaporated. Add the chicken breast, diced, and the rice. Stir until well mixed and hot.
Serve with a few florets of broccoli on the side. Enjoy!

I have to say, I’m not a carrot fan but now that I know that I can grate my carrots, it’s opened up a whole new world for me! I can incorporate carrots in my dishes now, in a way that sort of “hides” them from my own self!

Leave a Reply

