Cranberry Pear Jam

Canned Jam

This is a recipe that I bring out in the winter months and I make tons of it and it usually goes by pretty fast which is a good thing considering there are no preservatives in it. I still had some frozen cranberries so I made some this past weekend, yum!

Ingredients:
1 bag of frozen whole cranberries, rinsed
2 finely chopped, peeled fresh pears (if they are small and puny I’ll usually do more)
3/4 cup water, adding more if needed
1/4 – 1/3 cup not packed brown sugar

In a medium saucepan mix all the ingredients and bring to a boil over medium high heat, stirring until mixture is thickened and most cranberries have burst.
You can be creative and add apples, cinnamon, vanilla. Experiment! As a special twist, I added some frozen blueberries in as well as I was cooking this up.
I like to have this over non-fat Greek yogurt or on my non-sweetened, plain oatmeal on a chilly morning.

Leave a Reply

